How To Automatically Delete Your Facebook Account After Your Death?

How To Automatically Delete Your Facebook Account After Your Death?

104

Memorializing a Facebook account is a way to keep your account active after you die. Instead of your Facebook name as is, memorialization changes it to read “Remembering” plus your name. The name change makes it clear that you have passed to your Facebook friends and anyone searching for you.

However, Facebook also provides you with an option to auto-delete your Facebook account after it gets notified about your death.

Death is inevitable, but all the living beings seem reluctant to face this hard truth of life. It is more painful for the close connections of a deceased person because it is hard to fill that vacant space in their lives. Nowadays, many people spend a large part of their lives on the internet, especially on social platforms. The situation worsens when people come across the social media profiles of their loved ones or receive birthday notifications after they pass away.

Facebook is probably the most popular of all such platforms. It has appropriate options that allow a deceased person’s Facebook profile to memorialized – the ones with Remembering written – after getting a request from a verified person.

A friend or a family member can either initiate,

  1. A memorialization request:
    https://www.facebook.com/help/contact/234739086860192
  2. An account deletion by a special request for a deceased person’s account:
    https://www.facebook.com/help/contact/228813257197480
    Note: A proof of death is required.

A person can select Legacy Contacts for their Facebook account. The legacy contact can do basic tasks – once the account has been memorialized – like writing a pinned post, respond to friend requests, and update the profile picture and cover photo. However, they can not log in to the memorialized account, change any other information, read chats with other friends, etc. If there is no Legacy Contact attached to an account, no one will be able to make any changes.

Also Read:

How to Auto-Delete Your Facebook account after your death?

Now, if you don’t want to keep your Facebook account alive after your death, you can get it deleted automatically after you pass away. Facebook has now got a new user interface so some options might defer from the older one. Here are the steps to do so:

  1. Sign in to your Facebook account.
  2. Click the down arrow in the top-right corner.
  3. Click Settings & Privacy in the drop-down menu. Then click on Settings.
  4. Click General on the left-hand side.
  5. Click Memorialization Settings.
    Delete Facebook Account After Death Process 1
  6. Click Request that your account is deleted after you pass away.
    Delete Facebook Account After Death Process 2
  7. Click Delete After Death.
    Delete Facebook Account After Death Process 3

Facebook will delete your account, including all the data present in it, after someone notifies them about your death.

Keywords: memorialize facebook account, facebook memorial page, facebook legacy contact

Share: